Blog Entry

Volquez gets credit for batting, but not pitching

Posted on: April 22, 2011 10:53 pm
  •  
 

By Evan Brunell

VolquezSometimes, baseball's rules are ... well, interesting.

Edinson Volquez was slated to start Friday night's game against the Cardinals, but the floodgates opened after just one batter in the top of the first inning, necessitating a rain delay that lasted over two hours.

The game is in St. Louis, so Volquez had yet to step on the mound. According to Elias, that means he will not get credit for a start or even a game noted on his pitching records. When Matt Maloney relieved him to throw the first pitch, that made Maloney the starting pitcher of record.

However, Volquez does get a game played in his batting records, as he was in the original lineup. Volquez did not bat as the first inning wrapped after four hitters. Given Volquez's appearance in the starting lineup but subsequent removal after the rain delay, he is not eligible to return to the game

Score one for Tony La Russa, who started reliever Miguel Batista as La Russa anticipated the rain delay. When play resumed, Kyle McClellan, the original started, came in to pitch. Meanwhile, Baker now loses Volquez.

For more baseball news, rumors and analysis, follow @cbssportsmlb on Twitter or subscribe to thRSS feed. 

  •  
Category: MLB
Comments

Since: Oct 7, 2011
Posted on: October 13, 2011 8:28 am
 

Volquez gets credit for batting, but not pitching

I am by now carrying out many of those options however you can receive a significant amount of a number of most people that transpire being new to me.



Since: Dec 13, 2006
Posted on: April 23, 2011 4:16 pm
 

Volquez gets credit for batting, but not pitching

Never trust a man named Evan.There may be a sex change operation in his recent past.


The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com